This Little Light Of Mine

We knew she was a sick cat, but we didn’t know just how sick…or crazy she had gotten. Our sweet Maizy had been our family’s furry kid, a good resident and well-loved member of our family for almost 13 years, but this summer was different. The “welcome home” presents on beds should have been the red flags to clue us in on the fact that the thyroid treatment regimen was not enough. Then the black light and a twitchy tail told the fuller story and we realized she had been trying to tell us something was terribly wrong all along. So we said goodbye to a cat we loved and now have a house full of carpet to replace. Great.

Anytime we finally see something for what it actually is, there is an “aha” moment. A toddler’s mom can tell you that quiet, darkness and a young one are a recipe for disaster all too often revealed when we least expect it. My sister found that to be the case with a stack of blankets in a dark linen closet and a potty-training 2 year-old. (You can fill in the blanks here.) Our favorite naughty kid moment story is of my husband’s brother on Christmas Eve, climbing up to change the clock’s time so Christmas could start earlier the next morning. He was four. A very sleepy Christmas morning was well underway before everyone realized what he had done! No good is happening when the response from a toddler to what they are doing is “Nuffing”. But in the light, the truth is revealed. I tell my kids, it may take me a while, but I always find out! 

That’s funny thing about light. Its power to reveal sometimes gives us needed answers. Now, they may or may not be an easy pill for us to swallow. Urine spots all over my carpet glowing with the black light like highlighter yellow paint had been sloshed honestly took my breath away. And there are times when it’s not “things” at all. 

I cannot be the only one who grew up in a home where the latter part of Numbers 32:23 was easily quoted. “Be sure your sins will find you out” was quickly memorized if you lived in our red brick ranch on B Minor Street.  In our society, the phrase “come to light”  indicates the revelation of something formerly hidden. In a great mystery or crime investigation, it is often a strange twist of events that makes the revelation intriguing. In our own lives, however, and in the light of God’s pure holiness, I wouldn’t say “intrigue” is the best word to describe how it feels. In fact, it is often uncomfortable at best. Lately, God is revealing to me how very unlike His son I am and I’m not going to lie. It does not feel good. But I know it is necessary, because while being corrected, refined, molded isn’t pleasant, I do want His light shining in and through me. My heart truly desires His holiness. Here lies the beautiful part. When I respond with an open heart and allow the Holy Spirit to transform me, I am better able to shine His light outward. I remember learning the children’s song “This Little Light of Mine” in my Aunt Shirley’s Sunday school class and as an adult, I am still learning why that song is such good training. 

The Bible has tons to say about light to help us along the way. 2 Cor 4:6 says “For it is the God who commanded light to shine out of darkness, who has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.” In Ephesians 5:8, he even calls us light! “For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord.” The purpose is my favorite part. “Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.”. Do you see the connection? It’s all about His glory. 

The song “Create In Me A Clean Heart” is a haunting tune and a beautiful prayer. It is taken from Psalm 51:10. The lyrics are:

Create in me a clean heart, oh God

And renew a right spirit within me

Cast me not away from Thy presence, oh Lord

And take not Thy holy spirit from me

Restore unto me the joy of Thy salvation

And renew a right spirit within me

I could pray this every day.  I’ll leave you with Keith Green’s simple and powerful version. Enjoy!

Published by

ofgirlfriendsandmommies

I love my God, chocolate, my family, monograms, designer purses, music and the beach- not necessarily in that order!

Leave a Reply

